#404 – If You Could Pick a New Nickname for Yourself…

…what would it be?

There are two types of fools in the world; those who act in a dumb manner and often getting themselves into trouble, or skilled masters of mirth with sharp tongues and wits.  I just happen to be a bit of both.  To me, being called a fool isn’t an insult but an actual description of the person I am.

I’m especially fond of the latter description.  For years, I’ve loved fools, jesters and harlequins.  Their purpose was to entertain and, in many cases, use humor to criticize and chastise their lords, masters, and kings.  They were able to say what nobody else could say and were cheered for rather than chastised.  In fact, some fools were even punished for not being severe enough in their performances.  Ever the trickster, there’s a story about a jester who tricked a king known for his lack of attention to detail into signing a paper that relinquished his entire kingdom to the fool.  He returned it, having taught the king a valuable lesson of reading before signing anything.

So no, I don’t pity the fool.  I am the Fool.

Behind the Random: When I was a teenager, I wanted to attend the Theatre Resource Center in Toronto to attend the Clown and Buffoon course they had.  Unfortunately, it never really worked out and I’ve come to realize that I’m not much of a performer.  I prefer working in the background as a writer and director.  Still though, a Fool am I.

Leave a comment